September 11, 2019

The shortlist for this year’s prestigious OGUK Awards, sponsored by Shell U.K. Limited, is revealed today.

The annual awards ceremony is a highly regarded event within the UK oil and gas industry calendar which celebrates the brightest and best talent from across the North Sea sector.

30 individuals and businesses, selected from a record number of over 100 entries, have been nominated across nine award categories, including a new Energy Transition accolade. The winners will be crowned at a black-tie event on Thursday 7 November at the newly opened P&J Live.

Commenting on the Awards, Deirdre Michie, Chief Executive OGUK said:

“The OGUK Awards showcase the best our industry has to offer. In one of the most competitive years yet, our judging panel of industry heavyweights had a particularly tough job, with the frontrunners for each of the categories separated by the smallest of margins.

“In recognition of a changing energy landscape and the key role the UK oil and gas industry will play in achieving net zero I’m particularly pleased to be able to offer a new Energy Transition category for this year’s awards. I would like to take this opportunity to say a huge well done to all our finalists and we look forward to seeing the results on 7 November.”

Steve Phimister, Vice President Upstream Shell U.K. Limited added:

“We are proud to continue our longstanding relationship with the OGUK Awards.  The awards present a great opportunity to recognise and celebrate the undoubted talent and achievements of the people working in our dynamic and diverse industry.  I am pleased that the awards this year are recognising the role the industry can play in supporting the UK’s net-zero ambitions through the addition of the new Energy Transition Award.”

The awards, which fall into two categories, provide the opportunity to recognise outstanding performance at a company level as well as recognising the contribution of high-performing individuals in the industry.


The finalists for the OGUK Awards 2019 are:


Apprentice of the Year – sponsored by OPITO

  • Liam Marr – BP
  • Ashley Thomas – BP
  • Abbey Thomson – Shell U.K. Limited

Graduate of the Year – sponsored by ECITB

  • Victoria Allan – CNOOC International
  • Erin Ingram – TAQA
  • Eleanor Richmond – Shell U.K. Limited

Mentor of the Year (sponsorship available)

  • Attila Balázs – Sword – Venture Information Management
  • Richard Kidd – TAQA
  • Teresa Waddington – Shell U.K. Limited

Workforce Engagement (sponsorship available)

  • PD&MS Group
  • Repsol Sinopec Resources UK
  • Stork

Business Innovation (sponsorship available)

  • Deep Casing Tools (SME)
  • Swagelining Ltd, a Subsea7 Company (SME)
  • WFS Technologies Ltd (SME)
  • CNOOC International (Large Enterprise)
  • TOTAL E&P UK Limited (Large Enterprise)
  • TWMA (Large Enterprise)

Diversity and Inclusion – sponsored by Spirit Energy

  • BP
  • CNR International
  • Premier Oil

Oil and Gas Authority MER UK Award

  • Neptune E&P UK Limited
  • Shell U.K. Limited
  • TOTAL E&P North Sea UK Limited, TAQA, Sojitz, Apache and Nobel


Energy Transition – sponsored by Fairfield Decom

  • Aker Solutions
  • BP
  • Premier Oil

Excellence in Decommissioning (sponsorship available)

  • ConocoPhillips
  • Repsol Sinopec Resources UK
  • Shell U.K. Limited

Reservations for the celebratory awards night are now being taken at the OGUK awards website here



Notes to Editors:

Issued by the Communications Team, Oil & Gas UK. Contact Communications Adviser Lucy Buglass 020 7802 2404 / [email protected]

Oil & Gas UK is the leading representative organisation for the UK offshore oil and gas industry. Its membership comprises oil and gas producers and contractor companies.